Guatemala

Bosque y Fuego



After we tried to drive from Chetumal (Mexico) via Belize to Flores (Guatemala) on one day and almost got stuck at the second border crossing (the lack of cash), we had reached the lake Peten Itzà in the late evening. The village of Flores, a paradise for backpackers, was one thing above all for us: withdrawing money, washing clothes, taking out car insurance, shopping and allowing Douglas to change the oil.

After Flores we stayed overnight in Tikal, the famous Mayan ruins in the jungle. The next morning we had these huge step pyramids for us, of course together with all the different animals. The view of the highest pyramid was priceless, above the treetops that reach to the horizon.

A very long day of driving to Antigua turned out to be too optimistic and so we were stuck in a traffic jam in the middle of Guatemala City at night. Luckily there was a Swiss restaurant right on the street with plenty of space for camping for free. The Rösti for breakfast almost caused a little homesickness. Arriving in Antigua, we found shelter in the parking lot of a hostel. Our big goal was to hike on the volcano Acatenango and to admire the active volcano Fuego. With almost 2,000
Altitude meters on 7km distance an extremely intensive hike and the most breathtaking experience on our trip so far. A lava spitting mountain right in front of our eyes, never before have we been closer to the origin of the earth.

After that Madlen had to fly home again and after more than 5 weeks of visit we were together again. A perfect time to recharge your batteries for the second half of our journey. Finally we stayed for another 8 days on the parking lot at the hostel in the beautiful town of Antigua. Free breakfast, hot showers, a table tennis table and good wifi to update our website and finish the video on Mexico.

The last days in Guatemala led us to the windy Lake de Atitlan (a similar scenery to the Lake of Magiore in Ticino) over the steepest road Douglas has ever had to master to the colourful market in Chichicastenango and then back to Antigua before heading towards El Salvador.

Despite almost three unforgettable weeks in Guatemala, a rather poor country with very nice people, incomparable nature and probably the most colorful and fastest buses in the world, we can't wait to drive to the Pacific to surf again.

Guatemala

Bosque y Fuego



Nachdem wir zu dritt mit dem Versuch an einem Tag von Chetumal (Mexiko) über Belize nach Flores (Guatemala) zu fahren fast am zweiten Grenzübergang (mangels Bargeld) stecken geblieben sind, hatten wir den See Peten Itzà doch noch erreicht. Das Dörfchen Flores, ein Paradies für Backpacker, war für uns vor allem eins: Geld abheben, Wäsche waschen, Autoversicherung abschliessen, einkaufen und Douglas einen wohl verdienten Ölwechsel gönnen.

Nach Flores übernachteten wir in Tikal, den berühmten Maya Ruinen im Urwald. Am nächsten Morgen früh hatten wir diese riesigen Stufenpyramiden ganz für uns, natürlich zusammen mit all den verschiedensten Tieren. Unbezahlbar war die Aussicht auf der höchsten Pyramide, über den Baumkronen, die bis zum Horizont reichen.

Ein sehr langer Fahrtag nach Antigua stellte sich dann als zu optimistisch heraus und so standen wir im Stau in mitten von Guatemala City bei Nacht. Zum Glück gab es ein Schweizer Restaurant direkt an der Strasse mit viel Platz zum gratis campen. Die Rösti zum Frühstück liess dann fast ein wenig Heimweh aufkommen. In Antigua angekommen, fanden wir Unterschlupf auf dem Parkplatz eines Hostels. Unser grosses Ziel war es auf den Vulkan Acatenango zu wandern und den aktiven Vulkan Fuego zu bestaunen. Mit fast 2’000
Höhenmetern auf 7km Distanz eine äusserst intensive Wanderung und die atemberaubendste Erfahrung auf unserer Reise bisher. Ein Lavaspuckender Berg direkt vor unseren Augen, noch nie waren wir der Entstehung der Erde näher.

Danach musste Madlen wieder nach Hause fliegen und wir waren nach über 5 Wochen Besuch wieder zu zweit unterwegs. Ein perfekter Zeitpunkt um neue Energie für die zweite Hälfte unserer Reise zu tanken. Schlussendlich blieben wir ganze weitere 8 Tage auf dem Parkplatz beim Hostel im schönen Städtchen Antigua. Gratis Frühstück, warme Duschen, ein Tischtennistisch und gutes Wifi, um unsere Webseite zu erneuern und das Video zu Mexiko fertig zu stellen.

Die letzten Tage in Guatemala führten uns zum windigen Lago de Atitlan (eine ähnliche Szenerie wie beim Lago di Magiore im Tessin) über die steilste Strasse die Douglas je bewältigen musste zum farbenfrohen Markt in Chichicastenango und dann zurück nach Antigua bevor es weiter Richtung El Salvador geht.

Trotz fast drei unvergesslichen Wochen in Guatemala, einem eher ärmlichen Land mit äusserst netten Menschen, unvergleichbarer Natur und den wohl farbigsten und schnellsten Bussen der Welt, können wir es kaum erwarten endlich wieder an den Pazifik zu fahren um zu surfen.